History of the University

East Stroudsburg University, a comprehensive university in northeastern Pennsylvania offering 58 undergraduate, 21 graduate degree programs, and 2 doctoral programs is one of the 14 institutions in Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education.

It opened its doors on September 4, 1893, as East Stroudsburg Normal School. A faculty of 15 greeted a group of 320 students who entered two-year programs in elementary and science education.

Although the Normal School was originally privately owned, ownership was transferred to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1920, and the name was changed to East Stroudsburg State Normal School.

In 1927, the right to confer the degrees of Bachelor of Science in education and Bachelor of Science in health education was granted, and the school became the State Teachers College at East Stroudsburg.

In 1960, the name was changed to East Stroudsburg State College, reflecting the addition of liberal arts and science curricula.

In November 1982, the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education was authorized by Act 188 of 1982, and the college officially became East Stroudsburg University on July 1, 1983.